Manto 2018 movie Review hdfriday

Manto

Manto Movie Review

About Movie

Manto is an Hindi movie starring Nawazuddin Siddique and Rasika Duggal in prominent roles. It is a biographical drama directed by Nandita Das. If you are a representative of the production house, please share the details of the film with [emailΒ protected]

People Review

Vijay
Vijay

It's so boring don't even feel to right about it ! Save yourself from this torture 1 day ago

Nothing ! Nothing ! Nothing ! Nothing ! Nothing Nothing ! Nothing ! Nothing ! Nothing ! Nothing ! Nothing ! Nothing! Nothing! Nothing ! Nothing

Amrith
Amrith

Amazing artwork 1 day ago

Amazing screenplay and direction.Very efficiently captured both life of Manto and his stories.Nawazzudin Siddiqui as usual nailed his performance and Nandita Das direction was hats off.A must watch movie and i would be amazed if they dont win National award.

Meeta
Meeta

Manto: A must watch. 1 day ago

This is the most significant voice that we have heard in our times.. We must watch it for its powerful narrative, and the sheer span and scope of story telling.

Game
Game

A Classic Cult 1 day ago

An awesome masterpiece. Great work & direction by Nandita Das. Nawazuddin Siddiqui was fabulously awesome. The movie kept captivating the audience. Background music was great. Totally loved it. A Pure Art.

TARUN
TARUN

not a review 1 day ago

Nawaj nadiya aur dialogue aur manto ke liye...banta hai dekhna. No need of any review. go and watch and think if you can. that thoughts will occupie a space in ur mind. that will drag you in a different world.

Roshan
Roshan

Appears realistic than a conventional movie 1 day ago

Tight characters of minto and his family undergoing division crisis at the time of Independence and heart touching writing of Nawaj making him a controversial writer leads to a court trial which finally settles with hallucinations under alcohol addiction by Nawaz portrays lively sistuation.

ravi
ravi

A mirror to our times 1 day ago

The more things change, more they remain the same. Manto is a deft, well-written and -directed film. It showcases the Independence era succintly, without hype or hoopla. But more than that, it records the breakdown of a sensitive artiste. With great acting all around, and understated direction by Nandita Das (the last scene alluding to Toba Tek Singh is a master stroke), the film is an apt reflection of present day India. Sad to say, there were only a handful of people in the theatre.

Shubhayan
Shubhayan

Sheer Brilliance! 1 day ago

The unfettered character of Manto was itself a state of art considering him as a middle class writer. He proves that though middle class and challenged, he would rather not embrace mediocrity. With the such a backdrop, partition to be specific, such attitude of Manto was probably the picturesque element in the film. Nandita has been efficient enough to turn the major stones here. Rasika, a wonderful actor that she naturally is has been terrific in a supporting role.

Sanjeev
Sanjeev

I like this character 1 day ago

i like this character and this hero, I like moveis hsjdksie dieueieif6eheyrirure ejrurudjrururr hrururuririruejrr hrururuririruejrr ududududueue

Neha
Neha

Not entertaining. Intense but very very slow paced 1 day ago

The story is primarily about Manto's life during the independence and partition. The acting part by everyone associated with the team is great. But the story is very slow paced and thus becomes boring to watch at times. There are no twist or turns. It's just like a documentary and its not entertaining. You can watch it only for the acting part and the enactment of various of Manto's short stories in the film.

Rampy
Rampy

Pure Cinema 1 day ago

It's pointless pointing out Nawazuddin Siddiqui has delivered a great performance in a film, but his performance in this film has proved how great actors can transcend acting and become storytellers of their own. Nandita Das has written and directed the s out of this film. She uses light and camera not to manipulate and evoke cheap emotions but to put us in the objective reality of the tumultuous 1940s and the subjective reality of the Manto, almost as an ode to the ideals of the genius himself. Manto will blow your mind, but only if you keep your brain adjusted to it's pace.

Digambar Nath
Digambar Nath

Bakwas 1 day ago

Don't waste money. They should return my paisa. Don't waste money. They should return my paisa. Don't waste money. They should return my paisa.

ved
ved

Excellent 1 day ago

πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“

Alka
Alka

A totally gripping movie. 2 days ago

Fabulous and a very interesting film. Superbly made and directed. Totally engrossing film at all times. Nawazuddin Siddiqui was absolutely enthralling and so were all the other actors. The period of film so aptly shown.

Satarupa
Satarupa

Review of Manto 2 days ago

The best bollywood movie I have seen so far...all artists played their roles perfectly, all were able to connect with the audience...especially Nawazuddin, his acting gave me goosebumps...lastly, Nandita Das was successful in meeting our expectations in her very first initiative...our country lacks story tellers and script writers and directors and song composers like Nandita Das, Javed Akhtar...definitely a must-watch historical movie of all ages...I am immensely touched by this masterpiece of Nandita and team...my best wishes for the success of this movie....long live Manto...always in our heart...

sarath
sarath

Well directed movie 2 days ago

I have never read Manto's works before. I am a big fan of Nandita Das (her activism and, obviously, her first movie) so I decided to catch the movie. I watched the movie with English subtitles and I am impressed. Nawazzudin dazzles as usual and every other actors give their best. As we peek in to the life of Manto through his short stories the political undertones are too strong to be missed. The ending was a bit weird as I have not read Manto's works before (read at least 'Toba tek Singh' before watching the movie to experience the movie fully) but I enjoyed it thoroughly. Any work on partition makes me emotional and this was a well made work so there is nothing to be said.

Sudhir
Sudhir

Brilliant and intense 2 days ago

Amazing acting by everyone. Brilliant cinematography. Really feels that you are transported to that period. A really well told story that deals with so many subtleties.

Sandeep
Sandeep

Totally irritating 2 days ago

I totally get irritated after watching it, no story base, can't get intension of the film, i didn't get what they want to deliver to viewers through the movie.

Shalini
Shalini

A Must Watch! 2 days ago

Probably the best work Nawazuddin Siddiqui has put out till date. And Nandita Das has just woven it piece by piece into an absolute masterpiece.

Jayeeta
Jayeeta

Manto 2 days ago

Somehow the movie couldn't grip my attention and it was going off track.The biopic did not click for me and I feel Mantos story could have been handled better.

Sirisha
Sirisha

Unmissable 2 days ago

Superb performances by all! Watched film in bangalore.Audience didnt leave theatre till last song with film credits was over.Never seen something like this .Thanks to nandita das for giving us such a beautiful film.

Waseem
Waseem

nice πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹ 2 days ago

too good movie upp πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹

Kabir
Kabir

Masterpiece 2 days ago

This magnificient biopic about a legendary writer is still relevant 70 years after independence. times when free speech is being curtailed, creativity and dissent being labelled as treason this films message couldnt have had better timing. hats off to everyone involved

Mayank
Mayank

Don’t go 2 days ago

Bad movie ever made by Nawaz. And we won’t able to survive till interval. Please save your money please. And rest your choice...………...

Gaurav
Gaurav

Shaandar.... 2 days ago

Behtarin acting, behtarin direction...dialogues...Manto ka likha!!! Manto ki shakhsiyat ko bayan o zahir karti ek umda film. Bhot se log jo Manto jaise kirdar se nawaqif hain unhe unse milwane ka accha prayas.

rahil
rahil

Thought provoking 2 days ago

Nawaazuddin siddique nailed it...the dialogue of the year.."Agar zamaana mere afsano ko bardaasht nai kar sakta to ye zamana hi nakabele bardasht hai" WOW

Ayush
Ayush

Amazing for Manto Readers but confusing for others... 2 days ago

Movie was awesome and everything was just amazing... Manto readers will enjoy this movie but it may be incomplete or boring or confusing for those who didn't know anything about Manto. One should watch at least a video on Saadat Hasan Manto on Youtube and [May be Spoiler] should read "Khol Do", "Thanda Ghost" and "Toba Tek Singh" before going to watch the movie.

Kuldeepsingh
Kuldeepsingh

Mantoniyat 2 days ago

Really great movie. Wondered why people dont watch such kind of cinema!! Only 3 people in hall. Even they have started show so late die to livence issue.

Sanjeev
Sanjeev

Sanjeev varma 2 days ago

Brilliant brilliant and brilliant. Nawazuddin is among the greatest actors of india. He has arrived in the same league as sanjeev kumar, Balraj sahni,Miti lal,Kanhayiya lal

best movie
best movie

best movie of d month 2 days ago

one of the best movie of the month.nawazuddin was as always at its best.the dialogues were so awesome.the movie was as expected brilliant....

Chirag
Chirag

NOT released in Ludhiana.. is Ludhiana is so much backward or any other reason 2 days ago

why not released in Ludhiana yet ? are the cinema people not aware of updating it. is there no any legal regulations on them. ? Movies like this should be updated on screens as soon as possible

Kafil
Kafil

Art 2 days ago

Two hours for a Biography on Manto is far from sufficient. But yes this movie is to be felt, No Exaggeration, Simple and Good. Art from Nawazuddin.

Adnan
Adnan

you can't wait stop yourself to watch again 2 days ago

awsm movie yaar... i am going to watch it again nawaz kill it again . even your can't blink your eye for a single second. best movie of Bollywood it will

utkarsh
utkarsh

A Must Watch 2 days ago

jao Aur dekho jyada socho mat This Movie Is Amazing In Each And Every Terms One should invest His / Her Money As It will Broaden Your Thinking And As of Entertainment concerned its 10 on 10

Abhishek
Abhishek

The Journey of Internal Conflict! 2 days ago

#Manto, for his love for Bombay and his arrogance to pen down the truth, to his journey in Lahore where arrogance to write truth use to suffocates his family, from the habit of writing truth with a pencil that can't be erased to the alcoholism which was his medicine to surpass all the contradictions, however bitter, his work may be - a true mirror for society! #Brilliant work a must watch! #NanditaDas #Nawazuddin

Abhishek
Abhishek

The Journey of Internal Conflict 2 days ago

#Manto, for his love for Bombay and his arrogance to pen down the truth, to his journey in Lahore where arrogance to write truth use to suffocates his family, from the habit of writing truth with a pencil that can't be erased to the alcoholism which was his medicine to surpass all the contradictions, however bitter, his work may be - a true mirror for society! #Brilliant work a must watch! #NanditaDas #Nawazuddin

Aamir
Aamir

GREAT 2 days ago

I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO I love MANTO